Elections Act 1958 [Act 19]   cite [+]
Changes to legislation: Elections Act 1958 is incorporated with all amendments up to 1 December 2016. There are changes that may be brought into force at a future date. Legislation carried on this site may not be fully up to date.


Act 19

Elections Act 1958

An Act providing for elections to the Dewan Rakyat and to the Legislative Assemblies of the States.

[Peninsular Malaysia, *Federal Territory of Putrajaya-28 August 1958, L.N. 250/1958;
+Sabah, **Federal Territory of Labuan-1 August 1965, P.U. 176/1966;
++Sarawak-1 November 1966, P.U. 227/1967]

*NOTE-see section 6 Act A1095.
**NOTE-see section 6 Act A585.
+NOTE-For extension and modification of Act to Sabah, see P.U. 56/1966, P.U. 144/1966, P.U. 498/1966, P.U. 348/1967.
++NOTE-For extension and modification of Act to Sarawak, see P.U. 497/1966, P.U. 349/1967, P.U. 55/1968.

Important Notice: Legislation from this website is not a copy of the Gazette printed by the Government Printer, Percetakan Nasional Malaysia Berhad, for the purposes of section 61 of the Interpretation Acts 1948 and 1967 [Act 388] and does not constitute prima facie evidence of the contents of the Gazette by virtue of the section.