What is the official currency of Malaysia? What is the Malaysian currency code or symbol?

The official unit of currency in Malaysia is the ringgit as defined by the Central Bank of Malaysia Act 2009 (Act 701) (Malay: Akta Bank Negara Malaysia 2009 (Akta 701)). It is divided into one hundred (100) sen (cents).

The abbreviated form of the ringgit shall be RM (symbol) or MYR (currency code).
MYR is the Malaysian ISO 4217 currency code, thus MYR is widely use internationally such as on airline tickets and exchange rates posted in banks. Whereas, locally, it is normally abbreviated as RM and written before the numerical amount.

Back to the top

Share this page

Knowledge Base ID :   1461
Last Reviewed :   May 19, 2014
Tags :  

Related Knowledge Base Issues