Introduction to Secondary Schools (Pelajaran Menengah)

An introduction to secondary school education in Malaysia by the Ministry of Education, Malaysia. After Ujian Pencapaian Sekolah Rendah (UPSR), pupils continue their journey education in Secondary School in Malaysia for five (5) years. Secondary school education is informally divided into two parts: Lower Secondary (Form 1 to Form 3) and Upper Secondary (Form 4 to Form 5). Students will spend their first three (3) years in Lower Secondary and study a minimum of eight (8) subjects. The subjects are classified based on the next national exam they will take at the end of Lower Secondary (Form 3), the Lower Secondary Evaluation Examination or Penilaian Menengah Rendah (commonly known as PMR in Malay). Based on PMR result, pupils have three (3) choices or streams to continue their Upper Secondary - Academic Stream (Art/Science), Technical and Vocational Stream and Islamic Schools. The four (4) core subjects are Bahasa Melayu, English, Mathematics, Islamic Studies or Moral and History.

Share this page

Guide ID: 2916