IELTS (International English Language Testing System)

IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is a popular International test of English language proficiency for higher education, employment and migration.

IELTS is established in 1989 and jointly owned and managed by British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment. It has over a thousand locations and test centers worldwide.


IELTS test measures the English language proficiency as a language of communication and uses an easy to use band scale to identify proficiency level from band score 1 for non-user to band score 9 for expert. No minimum passing score for the test.

Four skills being tested are listening, reading, writing and speaking of the English language. The test takes 2 hours 40 minutes without breaks between each part of the test.

IELTS test has two versions:
  1. Academic for those who want to study at a tertiary level in an English-speaking country
  2. General Training for those who want to work experience or training programs, secondary school or migrate to an English-speaking country (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, United Kingdom).

The IELTS official website features:
  • IELTS Test: Test format; Sample test questions; How IELTS is scored; Who accepts IELTS scores; Test security
  • How to register for IELTS test; Preparing for test; Test locations; Test day; Getting test results; Resitting test; Special requirements
  • Teaching and Research: IELTS for teachers; Test statistics; grants and Awards; Research reports


Share this page

Guide ID: 2999 - Last Updated: July 19, 2016