Federal Supreme Court of Switzerland

The Swiss Federal Supreme Court is the supreme judicial authority in Switzerland. It constitutes the third branch of government, the judiciary branch, alongside the Federal Assembly (the legislative branch) and the Federal Council (the executive branch).

As the highest federal court, the Federal Supreme Court ensures uniform application of federal law by the cantonal and federal courts and protects the citizens' constitutional rights. The Federal Supreme Court consists of 38 ordinary and 19 deputy judges.

The Federal Supreme Court has seven divisions at two locations - Headquarters in Lausanne and Lucerne as its second location demonstrates a consideration for the principles of Swiss Federalism and multilingualism.

The Palais de Justice building in Lausanne has housed the Federal Supreme Court since 1927.
Notes:   Available in French and Italian versions.
Website:   www.bger.ch/

Share this page

Guide ID: 3136 - Last Updated: August 19, 2013