Constitutional Council, France

The Constitutional Council was established by the by the Constitution of the Fifth Republic adopted on October 4, 1958. It is a court vested with various powers, including in particular the review of the constitutionality of legislation. The Constitutional Council is not a supreme court that is hierarchically superior to the Cour de Cassation. The Constitutional Council is comprised of nine members who are appointed for nine-year terms. The members are appointed by the President of the Republic and the presidents of each of the Houses of Parliament (Senate and National Assembly). The powers vested in it by this legislation may be subdivided into two categories: Judicial powers, including two distinct forms of litigation (Normative litigation; Electoral disputes and referenda) and Consultative powers.
Notes:   Only basic information available in English. Other information are only available in French.

Share this page

Guide ID: 3125 - Last Updated: July 30, 2013