Federal Social Court, Germany

Also known as the Bundessozialgericht in German. Judicial power in Germany is divided into five areas - ordinary jurisdiction (civil and criminal courts), labor affairs, administrative, financial and social jurisdiction. The social jurisdiction was established in 1954 by the Social Courts Act. The Social Courts structure has three levels: in the federal states social jurisdiction is administered by the Social Courts and the Higher Social Courts, while the highest court, the Federal Social Court in Kassel, operates at federal level. In all three instances of the Social Court jurisdiction two lay judges assist the professional judges during the court hearings as well as the subsequent decisions made by the courts. The Federal Social Court acts as a court of appeal on points of law. Its 14 senates, consisting of a presiding judge, two additional professional judges and two lay judges, only resolve legal questions; they do not occupy themselves with establishing facts.
Notes:   Only basic information available in English. Other information are only available in German.
Website:   www.bsg.bund.de/

Share this page

Guide ID: 3121 - Last Updated: July 29, 2013