Constitutional Court of Belgium

A court of law composed of twelve judges watching over the observance of the Constitution by the legislative authorities of Belgium. It has the power to annul, to declare unconstitutional and suspend laws, decrees and ordinances infringing on Title II of the Constitution, on Articles 170 and 172 and 191 of it and on the power-defining rules between those authorities, provided for in the Constitution and in laws on institutional reform. All cases are entered on the cause list of the Court in their order of receipt. As the case may be, they may be instituted in Dutch, French or German, but the investigations are conducted in Dutch or in French. The official website features Preliminary rulings from the Court of Justice; Notices & Judgments; Jurisdiction; Procedure; How the Court Operates; and the Place of the Court.

Share this page

Guide ID: 3110 - Last Updated: July 27, 2013