High Court of Australia

The High Court is the highest court in the Australian judicial system. It was established in 1901 by Section 71 of the Constitution.

The functions of the High Court are to interpret and apply the law of Australia; to decide cases of special federal significance including challenges to the constitutional validity of laws and to hear appeals, by special leave, from Federal, State and Territory courts.

The seat of the High Court is in Canberra, where it is located in its own building within the Parliamentary Triangle. The High Court building houses three courtrooms, Justices' chambers, and the Court's main registry, library, and corporate services facilities.

In addition, there are offices of the High Court Registry in Sydney and Melbourne, staffed by officers of the High Court.

In Adelaide, Brisbane, Darwin and Perth, registry functions are performed on behalf of the High Court by officers of the Federal Court of Australia, and in Hobart they are performed by officers of the Supreme Court of Tasmania.

The official website of the High Court of Australia features:
* About (Role, History, Operation, The building, Visiting the High Court, Heritage, Employment, Tenders, Subscriptions, Freedom of Information)
* Registry (Court & Business lists, Court calendars, Filing documents, Information sheets, Scale of costs, Offices of the Registry, Registry charter, Register of Practitioners)
* Cases (Current cases, Cases heard, Case summaries, Special leave applications results)
* Library (About the Library, High Court Bulletin, Catalogue search, New books, Legal links)
* Justices
* Publications (Annual reports, Judgment summaries, Speeches, Judgments, Transcripts, Special leave dispositions)
* Education (Student resources, Tour bookings)
Website:   www.hcourt.gov.au/

Share this page

Guide ID: 46 - Last Updated: August 21, 2013