United Malays National Organisation (UMNO)

Also known as the Pertubuhan Kebangsaan Melayu Bersatu in Malay term. Established on May 11, 1946 to protest against the setting up of Malayan Union by the British on their return to the then Malaya after the Second World War. UMNO was formed to save the Malay community from sinking under the new political and economical wave that could deter them. Dato' Onn Jaafar was elected first leader. Tunku Abdul Rahman replaced Dato' Onn in 1951. A split in UMNO in 1987 lead to the formation of UMNO Baru and Semangat 46. Semangat 46 was dissolved in May 1996 and members joined the UMNO. The suffix Baru (New) was dropped in 1997 and the original name restored. UMNO membership is open to all Malays and Bumiputra of Malaysia. UMNO is the largest political party in Malaysia and a founding member of Barisan Nasional (BN). The official website of UMNO Malaysia features UMNO TV, logo and song, history, news archives, membership online check, UMNO constitution and UMNO state branches websites.
Notes:   Available in Malay version only.
Website:   www.umno-online.com/

Share this page

Keywords :  
Guide ID: 1895