Barisan Nasional (BN)

Also known as the National Front in English term. Established on July 1, 1974 as the successor of the Alliance (PERIKATAN in Malay term). The Alliance was founded as a result of political movement of races in Malaya (Now Malaysia) with the merger of UMNO (Malay) and MCA (Chinese). MIC (Indian) joined later. The Alliance won the first General Election in 1955 and was given the mandate to form the first government with Tunku Abdul Rahman as the first Prime Minister. The cooperation of various parties was later institutionalized as Barisan Nasional (BN) in 1974. BN is the major political coalition in Malaysia ruling the country uninterruptedly since its independence. BN's member parties are UMNO, MCA and MIC being the three largest race-based parties, PPP, GERAKAN, PBB, SUPP, SAPP, PBS, LDP, PBRS, UPKO and SPDP. Membership is possible through one of the constituent parties. The official BN 2008 campaign site features election issues, quick facts, progress and promise and campaign news.
Notes:   Available in English and Malay versions.

Share this page

Keywords :  
bn barisan national
Guide ID: 1890