Suruhanjaya Pilihan Raya Malaysia (SPR)

Also known as the Election Commission (EC) of Malaysia in English term. Established on September 4, 1957 under Article 114 of the Federal Constitution. Currently located in Putrajaya. The commission conducted the first general election in 1959. The main functions of the commission are to review and delimit Parliamentary and State Constituencies at intervals of not less than eight years, following the date of completion of the last review; to carry out registration of electors and revision of electoral rolls; and to conduct general elections to the House of Representatives and State Legislative Assemblies and undertake by-elections arising out of casual vacancies. Its policy is to safeguard and maintain the democratic process of the country through free and fair elections. The official site features online checking of electoral roll, voter registration and verification, election process and reports, registration of electors, political parties, Election Academy and act and legislation.
Notes:   Available in English and Malay versions.

Share this page

Keywords :  
election pilihan raya spr semak daftar election results 2008
Guide ID: 1889