Majlis Bandaraya Alor Star (MBAS)

Also known as the Alor Star City Council in English. Initially established as the Sanitary Board. The Board was renamed Lembaga Bandaran Alor Setar (Alor Setar Town Board) in 1958. On March 1, 1974, the Town Board was upgraded to Majlis Daerah Kerajaan Tempatan (Local Government District Council). On February 1, 1978, it was again upgraded to Majlis Perbandaran Kota Setar (Kota Setar Municipal Council). In conjunction with the declaration of Alor Star as a city in December 2003, the Council was finally renamed Majlis Bandaraya Alor Setar (Alor Setar City Council).

Share this page

Keywords :  
city council
Guide ID: 2246