Department of Trade Unions Affairs

Commonly known as the Jabatan Hal Ehwal Kesatuan Sekerja Malaysia in Malay term. Formerly known as the Registry of Trade Unions. Established in July 1946 to enforce the Trade Unions Enactment 1940. Under this Enactment any trade unions established shall apply for registration to Registrar. The Trade Unions Ordinance 1959 came into force on June 1, 1959 replacing the Enactment. The Ordinance was extended to Sabah and Sarawak in 1965. The Ordinance was revised and renamed the Trade Unions Act 1959 in 1981. The name of the Registry of Trade Unions was changed to the Department of Trade Unions Affairs in 1989. The Department Trade Unions Affairs official website features guidelines for trade unions registration, change of name and address and alteration of rules; forms; statistics; legislations; education programs; and activities.
Notes:   Available in English and Malay versions.

Share this page

Guide ID: 1944 - Last Updated: August 16, 2013