Suruhanjaya Koperasi Malaysia (SKM)

Also known as the Cooperative Commission of Malaysia. Formerly known as the Department of Cooperative Development Malaysia or Jabatan Pembangunan Koperasi Malaysia (JPK) in Malay term. Established in July 1922 under the Cooperative Societies Enactment 1922, which was based on the Indian Cooperative Societies Act of 1912, making possible the registration of cooperative societies with their major objective as the promotion of the economic interests of its members in accordance with the cooperative principles or a society established with the objective of facilitating the operation of such a society. The Cooperative Act 1922 was replaced by the Cooperative Societies Ordinance of 1948 regulating all types of cooperatives. JPK was transformed into SKM on January 1, 2008.
Notes:   Available in Malay version only.

Share this page

Guide ID: 1765