Advertisement

Judicial Review of Consumer

2051 Views  ⚫  Asked 4 Years Ago
asked on Sep 19, 2013 at 18:54
by   Bullied
Hi Notalawyer,
I am impressed with how you help Bert. I need your help. I obtained an Award from Consumer Tribunal against a Maid Agency for a small sum, less than RM2000. But the Maid Agency bring this to the High Court and put me as 2nd Respondent. They also filed for cost if they win this Judicial Review. They have obtained Leave to file but were late to file. So now, they have filed an application for extension of time to file the Form 110 for Judicial Review and  serve to the respondents, Tribunal and Me. The application is due for hearing at High Court end of next month but I have to file written submission latest by 11 Oct 2013. Pls help
0 had this question
Me Too
0 favorites
Favorite
[ share ]
147 Answers
 1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   Next »  Last »

answered on Sep 20, 2013 at 02:33
by   notalawyer
They also filed for cost if they win this Judicial Review.
There is nothing to worry about costs here as this is just regular legalese.
By taking the case to the High Court, they just increased the stakes.

Are you sure it is a "Judicial Review" or is it an "Appeal"?

The application is due for hearing at High Court end of next month but I have to file written submission latest by 11 Oct 2013.

Normally applications for time extensions will fail unless a very good reason is given on why they cannot file on time.  So you have a good chance to defeat this application.
However, how you write your Written Submission would depend greatly on reasons they gave ( about why they couldn't file on time ) in their Application and Supporting Affidavit.
So, post these 2 documents here so we can have a clearer picture.
0 found this helpful
Helpful

answered on Sep 23, 2013 at 15:47
by   Bullied
Dear NotaLawyer,
Thank you for your fast response. I would like to post the Application Notice and Supporting Afidavit by the Maid Agency here but there are many pages. I have scanned and filed them as PDF. How do I post them here? Can I email to you? Or Do this forum allow attached file in PDF?
By the way, this is definitely a JUdicial Review to be filed under form 110. I have also filed my Afidavit Bantahan on 11 sep 2013 but during the last case management on 17 sep 2013, Applicant solicitor said she had not received copy I served on her by AR Registered.
0 found this helpful
Helpful

answered on Sep 23, 2013 at 16:14
by   Bullied
Dear Notalawyer,
Basically, here's the chronology of events.
1. Consumer Award in my favor dated 25 July 2012.

2. Maid Agency filed Ex-parte Application for JR on 30/8/2012:
   - certiorari order to set aside the Award
   - injunction order against any kind of proceeding to enforce the Award
   - cost to be borne by respondents to the Applicant
   - Any other relieves deemed fair by this High Court.
- the 1st respondent: Consumer Tribunal, 2nd Respondent: me

3. Maid Agency obtained leave on 7 feb 2013 to file Form 110.

4. Their solicitor (female) is from Kota Bharu.

5. Initially, I did not know they file Form 110 late as I have not received anything from them. (I shifted house). On 15/5/2013 during case management, this come to light when the Timbalan Pendaftar (TP), highlighted that his records show they filed late. He then return their filed Form 110 to the lawyer and fixed 20 June 2013 for her to come see him. TP told her to use e-filing. He also told me that I do not need to attend on 20 June 2013 till I receive instruction to file my afidavit.

6. 28/8/2013 Case Management date (I found out this date from searching the e-filing system)
   - Penolong Kanan to TP (PKTP) told that Maid Agency filed application for extension of time to file and serve Form 110. I told PKTP that I had not receive any copy. She directed and lawyer passed me a copy. PKTP told me to file afidavit bantahan latest by 17 sep 2013. She fixed next mention date 17 sep 2013.
0 found this helpful
Helpful

answered on Sep 23, 2013 at 16:41
by   Bullied
Dear Notalawyer,
Briefly, here's the Maid agency's application for extension of time to file and serve form 110 for JR:-
1. Cover Letter: Notis permohonan under Aturan 53 Kaedah 4 dan Aturan 3 Kaedah 5(1) Kaedah Mahkamah 2012.  
               This notis to be heard on 28/8/2013 in front of TP.

2. Notis Permohonan
   - mendapat perintah: a. kebenaran lanjutan masa untuk menfail dan menyerah permohonan ikut Form 110
                        b. Lajutan perintah di (a) dibenarkan, Permohonan diserahkan dlm masa 14 hari
                        c. Kos permohonan adalah kos di dalam kausa.
   - Alasan Permohonan: a. Permohonan mengikut Boran 110 yang termeterai tidak dikembalikan kepada firma kami untuk menyerpurnakan serahan kpd pihak-pihak berkaitan.
                        b. Pemohon masih ingin meneruskan pendengaran Semakan Kehakiman.
   - Alasan selanjutnya adalah sepertimanda Afidavit Sokongan yg diikrarkan oleh Teoh.. (Maid agency boss) dan telah difailkan.

3. Afidavit Sokongan content:
   a). Peguamcara saya telah menfail Permohonan ikut Borang 110 by AR Registered on 19/2/2013 tetapi dikembalikan oleh Mahkamah pada 17/3/2013 dengan alasan kenaikan harga presipi. Eksibit 1. (1.Notis tukar Peguamcara; 2. Permohonan Form 110 3. cheq for RM16.)
   b) Pada 18/3/2013, solicitor then send doc 110 with cheque of RM60 to file docs, but were not returned to my solicitor until kes ini dipanggil pada 15/5/2013 where TP menyerahkan satu salinan doc 110 to my solicitor. Eksibit 2
   c) Saya dinasihati dan percaya kelewatan pihak Mahkamah tidak disengajakan dan Mahkamah harus membenarkan Permohonan lanjut masa ini kerana saya yakin dan percaya bahawa Award oleh Tuan Presiden Tribunal Pengguna pada 25/7/2012 harus diketepikan untuk keadilan kedua pihak.
   d) Saya juga dinasihati dan percaya kelewatan dalam mengembalikan dokumen termeterai tersebut bukan disebabkan kecuaian peguamcara saya, dan saya dinasihati bhw memandangkan kenaikan bayaran presipi untuk penfailan berkuatkuasa pada 1/3/2013 sepertimana dimaklumkan kpd peguamcara saya, doc 110 yg difailkan pada 19/2/2013 tersebut harus diterima oleh Mahkamah bukannya memulangkan semula kpd peguam saya dengan alasan bayaran presipi tidak cukup.
  e) Saya dinasihati dan percaya, Mahkamah mempunyai budibicara yg luas untuk membenarkan permohonan ini memandangkan saya mempunyai merit di dlm Permohonan untuk mendapatkan perintah certiorari.
0 found this helpful
Helpful

answered on Sep 23, 2013 at 20:37
by   notalawyer
Where is your reply affidavit that you filed before 17th Sept?
0 found this helpful
Helpful

answered on Sep 23, 2013 at 20:41
by   notalawyer
Also go to the Consumer Tribunal and ask whether the 1st Respondent ( President of Tribunal ) will be sending someone to also object the extension of time application.
0 found this helpful
Helpful

answered on Sep 23, 2013 at 20:50
by   Bullied
Already did. Tribunal not involved once case reach Judicial Review. I also call Attorney General office. The lawyer in-charged informed me that her Boss had directed her not to object in this application. She told me that AGC only involve until Leave stage. Since leave already granted on 7 feb 2013, they are no longer involved
0 found this helpful
Helpful

answered on Sep 23, 2013 at 23:11
by   Bullied
Dear Notalawyer,
Need your help to draw up a strategy for my written submission in this application for extension of time to file Form 110 by the applicant? Or do we wait and see if they will revert with an affidavit to answer my affidavit? So far, only AGC received it. The applicant lawyer not yet, or may be the AR Registered card is not back yet from post office.
0 found this helpful
Helpful

answered on Sep 24, 2013 at 00:54
by   notalawyer
Where is your reply affidavit that you filed before 17th Sept?
0 found this helpful
Helpful

answered on Sep 24, 2013 at 02:30
by   Bullied
Here's my afidavit filed on 11/9/2013:
1. Saya percaya permohonan pihak Pemohon utk kebenaran & lanjutan masa haruslah ditolak kerana berdasarkan eksibit TCE 1 & TCE 2 yg dikemukakan oleh peguamcara Pemohon, adalah jelas bhw kelewatan tersebut disebabkan oleh kecuaian peguamcara Pemohon dan bukannya mana-mana pihak yg lain.

2. Peguamcara Pemohon juga tidak harys menyalahkan Mahkamah ini dlm menolak dan memulangkab semula pemfailan Form 110 kerana memandangkan Mahkamah telahpun menetapkan prosedur dan bayaran yg sepatutnya diikuti. Saya percaya adalah tanggungjawab peguamcara Pemohon utk membuat susulan dengan Mahkamah yg Mulia ini mengenai status permohonan mereka secara proaktif ataupun memfailkan permohonan Borang 110 melalui e-filing kehakiman mengikut prosedur sepertimana yang ditetapkan bagi kes baru selepad 23/5/2011 maka kelewatan dari tarikh kebenaran pada 7/2/2013 tidak akan timbul sama sekali.

3. Saya sesungguhnya meragui keikhlasan pihak pemohon dan/atau peguamcara Pemohon untuk meneruskan pendengaran  Semakan Kehakiman ini memandangkan kelewatan yg berulang kali dalam penfailan dan penyerahan permohonan mengikut Borang 110. Hak-hak saya sbg responden akan terprejudis jika permohonan pihak Pemohon utk kebenaran dan perlanjutan masa utk memfailkan dan menyerahkan Permohonan mengikut Borang 110 kpd pihak-pihak berkaitan ini dibenarkan.

4. Saya percaya Pemohon telah dengan sengaja cuba melengahkan masa bagi mematuhi Award Tribunal Pengguna yg diperintahkan pada 25/7/2012. Saya juga yakin bhw Pemohon mampu membayar mengikut Award tersebut kerana mereka mampu melantik peguamcara sedangkan jumlah Award cuma sebanyak RM1892.00.

5. Selain itu, saya sesungguhnya percaya bhw pihak Pemohon haruslah menerima dan menghormati Award Tribunal yg dibuat oleh Tuan Presiden Tribunal Pengguna pada 25/7/2012 oleh sebab keputusan tersebut adalah adil dan dicapai berdasarkan fakta-fakta yg dikemukakan kedua-dua belah pihak.

6. Saya juga percaya dan yakin bhw Award tribunal haruslah dikekalkan berdasarkan Akta Perlindungan Pengguna 1999 memandangkan Tribunal telah diberi kuasa di sisi undang-undang utk membuat penghakiman yg sewajarnya dan muktamad berkenaan perkara yg melibatkan tuntutan pengguna.

Berdasarkan alasan-alasan yg dikemukakan, saya dengan rendah diri memohon agar permohonan pihak Pemohon diketepikan.
0 found this helpful
Helpful


 1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   Next »  Last »

Your Answer





By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.